The Governing Body of St Marylebone CE School

The Governing body meets regularly and works closely with the Headteacher and the staff to decide the school’s aims and policies and to oversee the efficient running of the school.
The Governors work in partnership with the London Diocesan Board for Schools and Westminster Council and have particular responsibility for:

  • Setting aims and planning for the future of the school.
  • Agreeing targets to raise standards of achievement.
  • Ensuring the curriculum for the school promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of the pupils.
  • Managing the school budget by providing the Headteacher with guidance, setting priorities and budget monitoring.
  • Staffing issues, including appointing the Headteacher and other staff and determining salaries.
  • Deciding the school’s policies on issues including admission.
  • Making sure all pupils have equal opportunities within the school and providing for pupils with special educational needs.
  • Ensuring there is a high standard of maintenance of the school’s premises.
  • Dealing with complaints about the school.
  • Raising funds through the annual voluntary maintenance contributions from parents.

There are twenty three places on the Governing body which include foundation Governors, elected parent Governors, staff Governors, and local authority Governors (see below for a full list). In addition to the six meetings of the full Governing body each academic year, there are also regular meetings of the three main committees:

  • Staffing & Management
  • Curriculum & Pupils
  • Finance & Premises

If you have any queries about the work of the Governors or wish to raise an issue with the Governing body, please contact Martha Blackwell, the Clerk to the Governors, via You can also contact any of the elected parent Governors via the school office.

Eliza Low
Chair of Governors
64 Marylebone High Street


Foundation Governors

The Rector (ex officio) Reverend Stephen Evans (Vice-Chair)
Bishop’s Representative Mrs Eliza Low (Chair)
Area Dean’s Representative Mr Nick Barber
LDBS Representatives

Mrs Sarah Hume (Chair of Curriculum & Pupils Committee)

Ms Harriet Capon

Mr Alistair Watson

Deanery Synod Representatives

Ms Frances Endres

Ms Alla Murphy

PCC Representatives

Ms Clare Alexander

Mrs Kirsty Walker

Trustees’ Representative Mrs Jo Sumpter
(Chair of Staffing and
Management Committee)
Members’ Representative Mr Steven Larcombe
(Chair of Finance
and Premises Committee)

Representative Governors

Local Community Governor Amy-Jo Lynch
Westminster City Council Governor Ms Paola Subacchi
Teacher Governors

Ms Kathryn Hardy

Mr Richard Lake

Support Staff  Governor Vacancy
Elected Parent Governors

Mrs Carys Ampofo

Ms Sara Payne

Ms Sharon Julien

Headteacher Ms Kathryn Pugh


Co-opted Governor Ms Emma Rea

Clerk to the Governors

 Martha Blackwell


Further Info

Members of the Academy Trust
Governors Attendance 2019_20
Governing Body 2020_21
Funding Agreement
Articles, Memorandum of Association